Official Records

Clerk Seal - Layers Gold Pattern with blue Small

Official Records Verified Through August 30th, 2019

Official Records are documents which are required by Florida Law to be recorded in the Official Records Series of each county. These documents are presented for recording by the public as well as the court system and include, but are not limited to: deeds, plats, mortgages, liens, affidavits, subdivision plats, judgments, declarations of domicile, satisfactions and releases, powers of attorney, and financing statements. This series of records is designed to create a permanent record of these important documents.

Florida Statute, 197.502 Application for obtaining tax deed by holder of tax sale certificate; fees.—

Tax Deed Sale information is published in local newspaper four weeks prior to the sale date. It is also made available via the internet.

 

Tax Deed Sales will be held at 11:30 a.m. on the day of the sale.

 

To participate in a Tax Deed Sale auction, arrive at the courthouse 15 minutes before the auction is scheduled to begin. You will need to check in with the Clerk’s Deputies in the Recording Department. At the time of check-in, you will be required to provide your name and proof of funds to bid at the sale. At the end of the sale the successful bidder must provide name and address as you want it to appear on the Tax Deed.

 

Once the bidding starts, it cannot be interrupted. If you win the bid, you can pay only with cash or certified funds.

Deposit  are Nonrefundable: The successful high bidder will be required to pay a non-refundable deposit equal to the greater of the 5% of the final bid or $200 AT THE TIME OF THE SALE. Payment must be made by cash or certified funds.  Personal checks and credit card will NOT be accepted.

In accordance with state law, the highest bidder has 24 hours to pay any costs associated with the sale. However, the Clerk’s Office encourages payment be made the same business day as the sale in an attempt to expedite the processing of sale.

 

This is a sale of the Clerk’s interest in the property, not necessarily a clear and marketable title to the property.

 

 

For more information on Tax Deed Sales, call the Recording Department at 904-548-4604.

Nassau County Clerk Recording

Please be advised that our Deputy Clerks cannot provide legal advice. [F.S. 28.215] We are not authorized to excuse you from attending a court hearing. If you have questions about your case that cannot be answered by simply reading the documents, please contact your attorney.

The Recording Department is in charge of recording all court judgments, liens, marriage licenses, mortgages, plats and tax deeds for the Nassau County Book of Official Records.

All Official Records and associated images from 1983 to present can be accessed through our Official Records Search.
If you would like to submit a records request you may do so via telephone, fax, email, regular mail, or in person, by submitting a written request and the appropriate fee to the address below. Please be aware there is a  fee if paying by credit card.

For further questions regarding requests for copies or record searches in Nassau County, please contact the Recording Division

Clerk Recording Division Contact Number: 904-548-4604
Clerk Recording Division Mailing Address: 76347 Veterans Way, Yulee, FL 32097

Resources:

Calculators:

FAQ:

Marriage Licenses can now be applied for and recorded at the Robert M. Foster Justice Center and our Historic Courthouse location.
For single adults to obtain a marriage license they must both be 18 years or older and come into the Clerk’s office together. Bring your valid driver’s license and Social Security Number (card not needed, just the number).Non-U.S. Citizens may submit a naturalization number, immigration number or passport number. The process for obtaining a marriage license normally takes no more than 30 minutes. When the application is filed, the license is issued immediately.
If either party has been widowed or divorced, they must know the month/day/year that the marriage ended.
*If either party has divorced within the last 30 days they need to bring a certified copy of the final divorce decree with them when they apply for a marriage license.
For Florida residents who file certification that they both have completed a state-sanctioned marriage preparation course within the past 12 months, there is no waiting period. Provider must be registered in Nassau county.  For Florida residents who have not taken the course, there is a full three-day waiting period between issuance of the license and the time it becomes valid for use. Note: The parties may take the course separately, they are not required to take it together, but both must take it in order to qualify for a Florida resident discount and both must read a 16 page Family Law Handbook (copy provided by the Clerk’s Office).
The waiting period does not apply to nonresidents of Florida. If one party is a resident of Florida and the other party is a nonresident the three-day waiting period is waived only if the Florida resident takes the state-sanctioned marriage preparation course, but no discount is given.
A Florida marriage license is valid for 60 days from date of validity. The marriage license must be returned to the clerk’s office for recording within 10 days after the marriage is performed.
Deputy clerks can perform civil ceremonies in the clerk’s office. There is a charge of $30.00 for that service. However, a clerk cannot perform the marriage ceremony at the time the license is obtained if the three-day waiting period applies. The clerk’s office asks for a 24-hour appointment in advance. Weddings are performed between the hours of 9:00 am to 11:00 am and from 2:30 pm to 4:00 pm, Monday through Friday (except for holidays)
For further information regarding marriage licenses, please refer to F.S. 741.
Please see list of  state  sanctioned marriage preparation course providers in Nassau County. Click Here
Note: Minors are prohibited from getting married in Florida unless the minor is at least 17 years old, has written parental/legal guardian consent, and the other party is no more than two years older.

You may purchase a copy from the Recording Department at any of the two Clerk of Courts offices in Nassau County. If you wish to have the copy certified, it is then the equivalent of the original document.

A new deed will need to be prepared by you or your attorney. It must then be recorded in the Clerk’s Official Records.

Divide the total amount of documentary stamp tax paid by the rate per hundred dollars in that year. The rate changes every year or so as determined by the Florida Legislature, and this list can be obtained from through the Clerk of Courts Recording Department

E-Recording is now Available in Nassau County

Electronic recording of documents such as deeds, mortgages, and other land records documents is now live. Customers can electronically send documents via the internet to the Recording Department. For more information and to begin submitting electronic documents please visit the Simplifile website for more details.

Simplifile | Official Simplifile Press Release

We also have additional erecording submitters:

Indecomm Global Services/Nationwide Title Clearing/Erecording Partners Network/e Doc Solutions

CSC ERecording Solutions

eRecording Support (866) 652-0111

erecording@cscglobal.com

CSC provides a web-based eRecording solution that enables submitters to electronically record real estate documents. 

Close Menu