76347 Veteran's Way Suite 456
Yulee, Florida 32097
Phone (904) 548-4600
Toll free (800) 958-3496
Live streaming of the Nassau County Board of County Commissioners Meetings.
Click below for the latest news and events regarding the Nassau County Clerk of Courts
The Nassau County Clerk's Finance Department has earned two awards for excellence in financial reporting.
|Jury Services Video (w/Transcript )|
|Jury Duty - What next?|
Optional Exemption - Excused automatically upon request
CONTACT INFORMATION: (904) 548-4607
All persons who are summoned to serve as jurors must attend unless they have been excused by the court. Attendance is essential to the fair administration of justice. People who fail to respond to a jury summons without being properly excused can be fined up to $100 and in addition, held in contempt of court.
Section 40.013 of the Florida Statutes states the reasons a person may be excused from jury service. Two of the categories are "Optional Exemption" and "Mandatory Disqualified Exemption". You must be excused if you are listed in one of the mandatory categories:
Mandatory - Disqualification
Hold the position of Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Cabinet Officer, Clerk of Court or Judge.
Convicted felon and civil rights have not been restored.
Currently under prosecution for a crime.
No longer reside in Nassau County.
70 years of age or older.
Parent not employed full time and have the care and custody of a child under 6 years of age.
Person who was previously summoned and appeared as a prospective juror in Nassau County, within one (1) year. (one year constitutes last date served up to and including new date that juror is to appear.)
Take care of a person who is incapacitated mentally or physically.
Full-time federal, state or local law enforcement officer or investigator employed by a law enforcement agency.
Any other reasons for excusal must be submitted to the Jury Services Dept at the Judicial Annex. The excusals can ONLY BE EXCUSED BY THE JUDGE.
Length of Service
Prospective jurors are impaneled for each judge requesting panels. Some prospective jurrors are impaneled to start the first day, other are given a future date to return. When prospective jurors return, the jury is selected for the trial. These trials are called "pick and go" trials as the jury is picked and the trial will begin the same day.
Jury duty will normally last one day if you do not get selected for a jury trial. If you are selected for a jury trial, you will most likely be excused when the trial is ended. However, jury service may be extended beyond these times in order to meet the need of the court. Every effort will be made to release you as early in the day as possible after it is determined your services will not be needed.
Compensation for Jury Duty
Juror compensation is set by Florida Law. If an individual continues to receive regular wages while serving as a juror, then the State will not compensate that person for the first 3 days of service. If an individual is unemployed, self-employed or someone who does not receive regular wages from the employer, then that person would be entitled to $15 per day (flat rate with no separate amount for mileage) for the first 3 days of service. Furthermore, any juror who serves beyond 3 days will receive $30 per day for the 4th day and any additional days. Approximately 15 days after completion of your jury service, a check will be mailed to you. Before reporting, check with your employer to see if you are paid your regular wages during jury service.
Please dress appropriately. Casual clothes are not appropriate. No jeans, capri pants or shorts. A coat and tie for a man, a dress or pant suit for a woman, military or other uniform are appropriate.
Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA) Notice
If you are a person with a disability who needs any accommodation in order to participate in this proceeding, you are entitled, at no cost to you, to the provision of certain assistance. Please contact the ADA Coordinator at (904)548-4600 press 0, at least 7 days before your scheduled court appearance, or immediately upon receiving this notification if the time before the scheduled appearance is less than 7 days; if you are hearing or voice impaired, call 711.